I Got This

I made another ruffle scarf using Red Heart’s Sashay ruffle yarn.  Yay!  I think I finally have this technique completely down.  This time, I made a purple one.  I’m pretty sure I am not going to be wearing all of these scarfs.. not only do I usually not wear many accessories, but I tend to only stick to the same kind of colors in my wardrobe.  I probably only need one scarf, haha.

Here is what the purple ruffle scarf looks like all finished up:

Image

I am enjoying working with this type of yarn.  The project works up quickly, just don’t drop any stitches.  I made the mistake of doing that the other day and it took me a while to get to a point where I could regain the pattern.  Phew!  It is a somewhat tedious project to work on, so it is great for beginners who are still learning how to hold needles, etc.  I also found it great for car rides.

Image

All the YouTube videos say to treat this yarn like a normal skein by unwinding it and then putting it into a ball.  This is a great idea because the first scarf I made with this stuff happened to have a giant knot towards the end.  It wouldn’t have been so bad, I probably could have gotten the know out.. except the knot was actually two different pieces of ruffle yarn tied together at the yarn factory.  Argh!  Definitely take the time to make a ball out of the skein of ruffle yarn.  You never know what you’re going to get.

I also haven’t read up on what to do with the tail ends of yarn.  I imagine that I sew them or weave them into the last layer..  but I’ve been thinking about buying larger beads and putting them on there.  I think this will really make the scarf POP!

I should probably get back to work on my blanket sometime soon….

Tell Me What You Think

