Comfort Food

I’ve been sick with a nasty virus as of late.  The things that make me feel better when I’m not feeling so hot are cozy blankets, heat/ice packs, funny television/movies, hot tea, and comfort foods.  I wasn’t able to really eat yesterday, so today I am indulging myself in some comfort foods.  To start things off, a childhood favorite : Beans and Weanies.

Beans And Weanies

  • 1 can of Van Camps beans in tomato sauce
  • Kosher hot dogs (all beef)
  • 2 TBSP brown sugar
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1/4 cup of diced onion

Put the beans in a pot and add the brown sugar and butter.  Slice up 3 to 4 hot dogs and put into pot.  Add as much of the onion to taste as you wish (sometimes I don’t put any onion in).  Turn heat to medium-low and allow to simmer, stirring often.  After 10 minutes, your comfort food is ready to eat.  I can tell it’s ready because the tomato sauce in the beans becomes more liquidy and gets that glimmer/shine to it like all tomato sauce does when it’s hot.  To make sure it’s done, try a hot dog.  That’s what takes the longest to cook.  I like my onions a little crunchy, but if you don’t then add them to the pot first with the butter.  Turn the heat on while slicing the dogs up and your onion should be less crunchy.

For an encore, I’m going to make some giant cookies.  I love Scotchies (RECIPE HERE), but am really too tired to be making cookies from scratch.  I found some premade cookie dough at the store and am going to use those instead.  Unfortunately, they were out of Scotchies, but chocolate chip sounds delightful as well.  Mmmm….

Now I just need to take my hot tea with me when I go do laundry and at least my spirits will be feeling much better today.  Ahh, the power of food 🙂

 

Tell Me What You Think

