It is Abyssmyal

I have a horrible job.  I know, I know.. everyone thinks their job is awful.  At least, most everyone does.  I often see these weird creatures about now and again that actually like their jobs.  How does that happen?

Here’s the low-down:  I don’t think I should have to sacrifice my time with family to have a stable career.  I don’t think I should have to be constantly emotionally stressed out in order to have job security.  I believe in working hard and getting the job done right the first time.  I just don’t believe in sacrificing the things that are more important to me (family, peace of mind) in order to do that.  Add to the list that I also do not think I should put my physical health on the line for my job.  What sense does it make that while I’m trying to bring an income in, I’m dealing with physical harm that can damage my ability to bring in an income?  Sounds about right in this place.

I know there are jobs that are stressful, both physically and/or mentally.  People sign up for those jobs.  They know what they are getting into.  I guess I just want to know where have all the good jobs gone?  What happened to practicing good Human Resources so that you treat your employees like people instead of policies?  I would love to know the answer.  So far, all I get is that I am one of many, replaceable peons. The work I do is monotonous, the people I work with are apathetic idiots, and the company I work for is clueless and would like to remain that way.  This place is turning into a third world country.  Let’s milk the workers for all they’re worth without regard to their physical safety or mental well being!

Sounds about right.

I am trying to get out of factory work, but that is proving difficult.  Everyone wants you to have experience and I have none.   That’s not entirely true because I do have experience.  I know how to use the various Microsoft Office programs – I used them everyday for almost two years to complete my online coursework.  For some reason, that doesn’t count.  Hiring officials want to have someone else to talk to that confirms that you did, in fact use the software for that given amount of time.  We’ve replaced taking someone’s opinion for it with common sense.

The problem isn’t that I have a hard time working.  I like to work.  I like to sweat and feel exhausted.  This makes me feel like I did something productive.  What I don’t like is the lack of common sense, consideration, maturity, and flexibility in the work environment and the people that work there.  I am constantly hearing people tell me, “That’s how it goes.  You get used to it.”  Really?  When?  I haven’t yet and it’s getting worse.  Anymore, going to work feels like it’s sucking my soul.  It’s as if I can feel my energy being physically drained out of my veins through my skin.  Ugh.

It would be easier if: the people were smarter and more mature, the management actually gave a damn, and the nepotism got nipped in the bud.  None of this is going to change, however, so I have to. change  It is time to find a new job but I have bills to pay until then so back to the dark hole I go.  I would just like to know when work became synonymous with boring, monotonous, tedious, and “AAAHHH!  I can’t take it anymore!”

To me, work used to be something to be proud of.  I did a good job, people mentioned that I did a good job.. I was exhausted from the work but in a good way, not to the point of falling over.  I felt productive and as if I was contributing to something.  Now, I feel like a peon.  My presence does not matter.  The work I am doing does not matter.  I don’t matter.  Talk about depressing.  It’s like I’m the main character in “1984” (or 1946 as my husband calls it).

Bring on the mind control!  My brain has been turned to mush from working at a deadend, redundant and useless job.  I should be ripe for the picking.  On a bright note, if the Earth is ever invaded by mind-ingesting aliens.. I’ll survive!  Damn, so will all the people I work with. Oh the Humanity!

Tell Me What You Think

