MIdwestern Skies

“Midwest” is such a vague term considering there are 12 states that make up that region.  Still, I wanted to share some snapshots I took of the sky a couple of weeks ago. It was just starting to warm up on a regular basis and we were getting winds and front clouds moving through the area. The quality of the photos could be better, but I took them through my windshield. Don’t worry, I was parked outside my house at the time.

I had just gotten off of work and was going to the store, I think, when I snapped these. I know it was in the morning because I was shocked at just how dark the sky still was.  To prevent confusion, or add to it, I’m a third shifter so I get off of work in the morning.

Church and Lights

Church and Lights

You can see that the street lights are still on because the sky is still dark, even though it’s morning. I was amazed at the dark blue color and the pockets of shadow and light that were passing by so quickly.

Neighbor

Neighbor

I’ve always thought that the house across the street was spooky yet fascinating. It kind of makes me think of Boo Radley from “To Kill a Mockingbird”. It’s made even spookier by the awesome front of clouds passing by.

Not to worry, the storm passed and all was well. It even made my crocuses bloom a little brighter.

Crocus Flowers

Blooming Crocus

Ignore the dead leaves.. if possible. I still haven’t cleaned out the garden from last Fall. I know, shame on me. I guess life has just kept me too busy. It’s difficult to find the right time to do it when working third shift, as well. I can wait until morning but then I am tired and ready to go to sleep. I can try to get it done when I get up, but I have so many other things to do at that time, before it gets too dark. Ah well, I may not have much of a garden this year.

And that’s it. I just wanted to share a glimpse of the wonderful skies that exist here in Ye Olde Timey Towne.  Maybe I can catch some mammatus clouds this Summer!

Tell Me What You Think

