Fun and games

Instead of doing yet another top 10 list, I decided to just say I’d talk about my favorite games. I’m not sure I have ten games to talk about without taking up a whole novel. If you don’t like video games, this is your first and final warning: look away.

I could talk about all kinds of games all day long. There’s the Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy, and many many more. Instead, I want to share the games I am currently playing. Yes, that’s plural. Just like my craft projects, I tend to play more than one game at a time. In fact, in RPGs, I tend to play more than one game in a game.  That is, more than one character.

I digress.

Right now, I’m playing some adventure games, object finding puzzle games, and straight up role playing games.  The one I played last night is a lovely little game called Deponia. There are three Deponia’s in total: Deponia. Chaos on Deponia, and Goodbye Deponia.  They are all done by the same company and so are in the same style, with the same characters, following the same storyline.  It’s great to have two more games to play once you finish the first one and love it.  The thing I found is that the puzzles are a little unorthodox. This can be frustrating at times, but absolutely refreshing at others. Although I do enjoy the Agatha Christie style games, the clue hunting can be somewhat mundane and far too similar. If you agree, try Deponia. It also has a wonderful cartoony style and the main character is an arrogant buffoon – always a pleasure to watch.

Picture of Deponia

I know what I’m doing!

 

I’ve also been playing DC Universe Online. It’s an MMORPG (massively multi-player online role playing game). Dear, that’s a mouth full.  It’s even more fun because Hubby plays it as well. There we sit, in the living room, each at our respective computer, playing DCUO.  We actually interact a lot, usually with screams of “Where the hell did that come from?” or “Wait for me!” It’s great fun.

The game itself is pretty straight forward. You choose to either play as a superhero or villain. Then, you tweak the build of the person and add a very customizable costume. Throw in some powers and you’ve got a great character. The tutorial is pretty thorough and the quests are great for first time players.  The only problems I have with DCUO is the obvious oversexualization of the characters you create. The company in charge of it used to require people to buy the game and then pay a monthly subscription. Now, you can play for free. Unfortunately, it has fallen in line with many other MMORPG’s and things are only free up to a point. If you want a truly badass character with awesome equipment, or if you want to access secret areas, you need to pay a subscription fee. Sometimes, you also have to pay for individual upgrades. It has put me off it a bit, but Hubby is hanging in there and still enjoys it.  If you’re a first time MMORPG player, this game is actually pretty good.

Picture of DC Universe Online Character Creation

DCUO Character possibilities

 

Skyrim is a straight forward, RPG.  It is from the Elder Scrolls line by Bethesda.  This whole line of games is pretty awesome and definitely worth a play if you get the chance. It spans various decades of different consoles, so obtaining copies of the previous games could prove difficult. Still, Bethesda has kept abreast with the technological advances of gaming. Skyrim is no exception. The graphics are stunning and expansive, to say the least. That being said, it does take certain computer requirements to run games that pull so much video card power and memory. However, as the years tick by, most computers now meet these requirements.  All that aside, the game is wonderfully immersive.  The character creation may take some time because you are able to tweak things to such a great level.  I found the actual playing of the game to have a higher learning curve than I would have liked. It took some time for me to master the all the various keyboard shortcuts necessary to play without dying straight away. Which I did, several times.  It is a great game and I recommend it to everyone, but I am (and probably always will be) a hardcore Oblivion fan. Oblivion is a very similar game because it is the prequel in Elder Scrolls saga.  On a side note, the move “Oblivion” had nothing in common with this game. Just a happenstance of names.

Picture of Gate of Oblivion

Oblivion Gate to Hell

 

I have not tried the newest installment to the Elder Scrolls line, Elder Scrolls Online. It is Bethesda’s foray into the MMORPG world. I had the chance to sign up for the beta trial, but I decided against it once I learned that you had to purchase the game and then pay a monthly subscription fee on top.  Although I have reservations about doing this, if the game is truly good, I will (once all the beta bugs have been worked out). I have my fingers crossed that it will not fall into the same “free up to a point” category as so many other MMORPGs have done.  Still, I won’t hold my breath.

 

Finally, Last Dream.  This is a delightfully old school RPG/adventure game from WhiteGiant studios.  It has the same feel of the Super NES Zelda and Final Fantasy games.  It was obviously made with RPG-Maker, but what it lacks in graphics it more than makes up for in storyline.  The world is much more expansive than originally thought and the character development is superb. The story takes many inspirations from ancient literature (ie: Greek and the like).  It was obviously made by some very smart developers as there are fun little glimpses of classic literature throughout.  If you are a gaming geek who also enjoys literature, this is the game for you.  The good news is that a sequel is in the works. The other good news is that White Giant takes in submissions from fans for work that is placed directly into the game. That means you can add details of the game if they like it well enough. Although you won’t be paid for your work, you will get the chance to point and say, “I made that!”

Screenshot of Last Dream game

Last Dream – Fighting and walking around

Well that’s about it, for now. Stay tuned if you like video games, I will probably be playing a few different ones in a month.

Instead of doing yet another top 10 list, I decided to just say I’d talk about my favorite games. I’m not sure I have ten games to talk about without taking up a whole novel. If you don’t like video games, this is your first and final warning: look away.

I could talk about all kinds of games all day long. There’s the Legend of Zelda, Final Fantasy, and many many more. Instead, I want to share the games I am currently playing. Yes, that’s plural. Just like my craft projects, I tend to play more than one game at a time. In fact, in RPGs, I tend to play more than one game in a game.  That is, more than one character.

I digress.

Right now, I’m playing some adventure games, object finding puzzle games, and straight up role playing games.  The one I played last night is a lovely little game called Deponia. There are three Deponia’s in total: Deponia. Chaos on Deponia, and Goodbye Deponia.  They are all done by the same company and so are in the same style, with the same characters, following the same storyline.  It’s great to have two more games to play once you finish the first one and love it.  The thing I found is that the puzzles are a little unorthodox. This can be frustrating at times, but absolutely refreshing at others. Although I do enjoy the Agatha Christie style games, the clue hunting can be somewhat mundane and far too similar. If you agree, try Deponia. It also has a wonderful cartoony style and the main character is an arrogant buffoon – always a pleasure to watch.

Picture of Deponia

I know what I’m doing!

 

I’ve also been playing DC Universe Online. It’s an MMORPG (massively multi-player online role playing game). Dear, that’s a mouth full.  It’s even more fun because Hubby plays it as well. There we sit, in the living room, each at our respective computer, playing DCUO.  We actually interact a lot, usually with screams of “Where the hell did that come from?” or “Wait for me!” It’s great fun.

The game itself is pretty straight forward. You choose to either play as a superhero or villain. Then, you tweak the build of the person and add a very customizable costume. Throw in some powers and you’ve got a great character. The tutorial is pretty thorough and the quests are great for first time players.  The only problems I have with DCUO is the obvious oversexualization of the characters you create. The company in charge of it used to require people to buy the game and then pay a monthly subscription. Now, you can play for free. Unfortunately, it has fallen in line with many other MMORPG’s and things are only free up to a point. If you want a truly badass character with awesome equipment, or if you want to access secret areas, you need to pay a subscription fee. Sometimes, you also have to pay for individual upgrades. It has put me off it a bit, but Hubby is hanging in there and still enjoys it.  If you’re a first time MMORPG player, this game is actually pretty good.

Picture of DC Universe Online Character Creation

DCUO Character possibilities

 

Skyrim is a straight forward, RPG.  It is from the Elder Scrolls line by Bethesda.  This whole line of games is pretty awesome and definitely worth a play if you get the chance. It spans various decades of different consoles, so obtaining copies of the previous games could prove difficult. Still, Bethesda has kept abreast with the technological advances of gaming. Skyrim is no exception. The graphics are stunning and expansive, to say the least. That being said, it does take certain computer requirements to run games that pull so much video card power and memory. However, as the years tick by, most computers now meet these requirements.  All that aside, the game is wonderfully immersive.  The character creation may take some time because you are able to tweak things to such a great level.  I found the actual playing of the game to have a higher learning curve than I would have liked. It took some time for me to master the all the various keyboard shortcuts necessary to play without dying straight away. Which I did, several times.  It is a great game and I recommend it to everyone, but I am (and probably always will be) a hardcore Oblivion fan. Oblivion is a very similar game because it is the prequel in Elder Scrolls saga.  On a side note, the move “Oblivion” had nothing in common with this game. Just a happenstance of names.

Picture of Gate of Oblivion

Oblivion Gate to Hell

 

I have not tried the newest installment to the Elder Scrolls line, Elder Scrolls Online. It is Bethesda’s foray into the MMORPG world. I had the chance to sign up for the beta trial, but I decided against it once I learned that you had to purchase the game and then pay a monthly subscription fee on top.  Although I have reservations about doing this, if the game is truly good, I will (once all the beta bugs have been worked out). I have my fingers crossed that it will not fall into the same “free up to a point” category as so many other MMORPGs have done.  Still, I won’t hold my breath.

 

Finally, Last Dream.  This is a delightfully old school RPG/adventure game from WhiteGiant studios.  It has the same feel of the Super NES Zelda and Final Fantasy games.  It was obviously made with RPG-Maker, but what it lacks in graphics it more than makes up for in storyline.  The world is much more expansive than originally thought and the character development is superb. The story takes many inspirations from ancient literature (ie: Greek and the like).  It was obviously made by some very smart developers as there are fun little glimpses of classic literature throughout.  If you are a gaming geek who also enjoys literature, this is the game for you.  The good news is that a sequel is in the works. The other good news is that White Giant takes in submissions from fans for work that is placed directly into the game. That means you can add details of the game if they like it well enough. Although you won’t be paid for your work, you will get the chance to point and say, “I made that!”

Screenshot of Last Dream game

Last Dream – Fighting and walking around

Well that’s about it, for now. Stay tuned if you like video games, I will probably be playing a few different ones in a month.

Tell Me What You Think

