Writing and creativity.

These two things are very fickle, lately.  I have been writing a story, that turned into something completely different than it was intended to be. It’s also much longer than I imagined.. and now I am having a hard time getting back into the frame of mind to write that particular story.  I think I just need some quiet time and a good space.  Until then, it  is frustrating to know that I want to keep writing it, but there just isn’t anything to write at the moment.

This doesn’t feel like writers block. I don’t stare at a blank screen and get nothing. Instead, I think of all the things I should be doing and all the stress in life, at the moment. I think, “If only this were different, if only that were different.. then I could do it.” There’s the problem. You can’t wait for things to change, you have to do it now!

So off I go to make a mess of a lovely story. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Writing and creativity.

  1. Wow. I know exactly what you are going through, with the sort-of-writers-block.
    Also, my current novel WOP started out as a short story. I gave up on shortening it, but I’m glad. Could that be a possibility for you or is it a different situation?

    Like

Tell Me What You Think

