Lessons in Driving

I’ll admit it, I’m not the best driver. I learned later in life and I’ve had my fair share of close calls. I was thinking about this while trying to fall asleep, last night, and I wanted to share it. Why? Just because.

1. First of all, I didn’t learn to drive until I was in my mid to late twenties. Why? Because I used to live in a larger town with an excellent transportation system. Owning a car and paying for car insurance was an unnecessary hassle. Besides which, during my teens and early twenties, I was undergoing quite the anxiety problem. I simply could not bring myself to get behind the wheel of a car.

A clipart picture of a city bus

City Bus

 

2.  Before all of this, however, I didn’t mind so much. When I was 8 or 9, I used to take the blue Topaz for a ride around the cul-de-sac of the neighborhood we lived in. It wasn’t a fast ride because I really couldn’t reach the pedals, so I pretty much coasted through the whole thing. I never remember getting caught, but I”m sure the neighbors noticed at some point. I forget why I stopped doing it.

3. The first car I ever owned and bought was a beat up Ford Taurus. I bought it off my brother who was going to sell it to a scrap yard because he had been T-Boned in it.  I bought it, fixed the door, and had a light blue car with a dark green door. At least I never lost it in a parking lot.

4. I did however run over a median in it. Not exactly a median, but a cement divider between two parking lots. The divider was the same color as both parking lots (not painted yellow) and it scraped out the bottom of the car.  It ran for another three days before finally dying. It was fun while it lasted.

A clipart picture of a beat up car

I can’t take anymore!

5.This story is something that certain people find amusement in reminding me of, even years since. It is very annoying as *everyone* has done something with a vehicle that is infamous. ( Like backing into someone else’s car in your own driveway.)

6. It took me a while to figure out that when you are at a two-way stop, the other person has the right of way if you are turning left – even if you got there first. Now, I yell at other people who don’t know this one.

7. I have road .. well, not exactly rage. I like to make observations about the other person’s driving skills, is all. I might pepper my comments with bold words, but I just do it to prevent road rage. It’s worked so far.

A comic showing a snail blazing past a turtle

John Bell’s Road Rage

8. My husband’s driving .. well.. drives me crazy. He is very cautious and often goes below the speed limit.  He likes to wait (and wait and wait) when making left hand turns into traffic. It has been the basis for several “discussions” in the car.

9. I am very selfish in the car and must listen to the music of my choice. It just drives me nuts to be contained in a metal box while having to listen to bad music. It almost makes me claustrophobic.

10. Finally, I don’t like hills anymore. I used to love going down those tummy tickler hills. Now, however, it is too much for me. I’d rather have a non-grumpy tummy than a cheap thrill.

That’s it. Some useless information about my car history, likes, and dislikes. Nothing special to see, keep moving.

Tell Me What You Think

