It’s not mean if it’s funny…

..right? Right.

I can be mean funny, sometimes. This is nothing new, I’ve always been this way. It’s gotten better over the years. Hubby is far more mean funny than me.  Why am I telling you this? Because of this:

A comic about shaving whales

They’re getting too hairy!

This reminded me of a particular time when I was mean funny:

I used to work at a factory that made corn taco shells. It was pretty boring. We basically just stood there and packed tacos all day. I’m sure there’s a joke in there somewhere.. Anyways, we usually passed the time by joking around with one another, singing songs (especially around Christmas), and just chatting. It wasn’t a bad job, but the HR sucked. That’s a different story.

So anyways.. There was this very gullible girl that worked on my team a lot of the time. We usually had fun with her in good humor and didn’t put her down for being.. more simply minded.  Afterall, it provided us with endless hours of amusement. One example came on a particularly boring night.

We were doing our usual jobs, humming songs.  Suddenly, I got the Menards jingle stuck in my head. If you don’t know what Menards is, it’s a hardware/home improvement store. HERE’s a link to their website. Anyways, they have a catchy jingle that goes, “Save Big Money at Menards”.  I was taken back to the time when I was hanging out with some friends and that jingle came on the radio. We all started laughing and singing, “Shave big monkeys at Menards”. Hmmm.. an idea was forming.

I know, I shouldn’t.. but it’s just too good! So.. I told Ms.Gullible that Menard’s jingle used to be “Shave big monkeys” because they got their start making their giant area rugs out of gorilla hair. Yes, I went there. She looked at me with an eyebrow arched. Hmm.. maybe she was learning. I continued on explaining that they took the gorilla hair from the local zoo and wove it into rugs. That’s why they had the jingle. It looked like she was thinking about this being a possibility. I just needed to seal the deal.

They had to stop because the animal rights groups got in a tizzy, so they branched out into other home improvement stuff. BUT! They still make their rugs at each facility. In fact, if you go to Menards, just go up to the customer service desk and ask to see the rug making seamstresses. They give free tours, but hardly anyone knows about it. You even get a free welcome mat at the end of it. I swear!

I know.. I know. But I couldn’t help myself.

I’m not sure if she ever took me up on it, but every now and again, I like to imagine her going up to the service desk and what the reaction of the people working there would be. Ah, meanness humor.

Tell Me What You Think

