Organizing the Craft Monster

With my projects multiplying faster than I can finish them, I’ve decided to try and organize the mess. The physical components are going to be re-organized in the “craft corner”. I have to laugh because it’s just the corner of the bedroom and invariably spreads its way out. I’m not sure there is any way to organize it and prevent it from spilling over. Trust me, I’ve tried. I currently have three totes and a larger, round container (which was supposed to be used for something else but turned into a craft container).  Add on the beading “tackle boxes” and.. well.. you get the picture.

I also have a hard time remembering exactly what pattern I was working on a project that I have put aside for a while. To remedy this, I am making a pattern portfolio. At this time, it will only contain the projects I am currently working on. However, in the future, I would like to add a section of patterns I want to work on.  Printer ink is expensive and I’d rather save it for printing out resumes at this time.

Having said that, I thought I’d share my progress on some of my projects.  Just to motivate myself to finish them so I can start more.

1. Scrap Yarn Afghan

I got the pattern for this blanket from New Stitch a Day – Crocheted Chevron. I have to laugh when I see this afghan because it has, much like the rest of my collection, ballooned out from its original purpose.  In the beginning, there was scrap yarn usage, and it was good. Now, though, I am buying yarn to finish this scrap yarn blanket. It’s defeated the purpose entirely. I could have continued to work in my scrap yarn, but my colors vary so dramatically and I am not bold enough to combine these colors. It’s all about my creative cowardice and has nothing to do with a lacking yarn stash.

A picture of my scrap afghan

Scrap Afghan

2.Lace Ripple Afghan

This afghan has turned out more beautifully than I imagined it would. I am using Caron Simply Soft Solids in Ocean blue, Passion purple, and Off White. I had wanted it done in May, but am now waiting for December. If that doesn’t work out, it will have to get done next May. I detest when a project keeps getting put off, but there is no getting around it. Between not being able to get skeins to simply not having the time, this project is probably going to take longer than I had hoped.

Ripple Afghan

Lace Ripple Afghan

3.Pond Ripple Afghan

I got this blanket pattern from Elizabeth at Ravelry. This was meant to be a weekend project, but I ran into some snags in reading the pattern. This lead to the blanket being a little larger than the pattern required, but I am happy with the outcome so far. I am so close to finishing it, but I will have to be patient. Again, this afghan was meant to use up some yarn I had, without buying more, but it hasn’t turned out that way. I bought another skein of white because I could have sworn that I had more, but I can’t find it. Shock.

A picture of my pond ripple afghan

Pond Ripple Afghan

4.Zig Zag Afghan

I found this project from Yolanda on YouTube. I decided to change the pattern up a bit, to create a slant instead of a zig-zag because I didn’t like the gaps the zig zap was leaving. So far, it’s working out. Once I get the trim around it, the small imperfections won’t be noticeable at all. This project isn’t meant for anyone and it doesn’t have a due date, so I just pick it up if it’s nearby and I’m looking for a crochet fix.

A picture of a closeup of the Vikings blanket.

Ra ra Vikings!

5.Baby Ripple Blanket

This blanket is for my upstairs neighbors that have just had a little baby. Squee! I got to hold her and she is precious. *takes deep breaths* Okay, the blanket. I have not started it yet. I know, I know, but hear me out: I didn’t know these people a couple of weeks ago so it’s not like I knew she was preggers for nine months and totally put off making a baby gift. Granted, it is something I would probably do.. but this time I didn’t. I swear! *crosses heart*. Having said that, I found the perfect pattern for this one at All Free Crochet Afghan Patterns.com. It only takes one skein (or so it says) and looks pretty straight forward.

Tell Me What You Think

