Character Designs

I wrote a short story last month and I decided to actually “finish” it. Of course, to do that I have a lot of things to start. First and foremost: character designs. I’m sketching out the simple characters involved in the story. Fortunately, there are only two characters. Yup, two: a frog and a spider. Sound like fun? Keep reading.

The frog turned out pretty good, I thought. There are a few things I need to tweak, but I am really happy with it. I still need to outline it, so I can’t share that with you just yet. Instead, I am going to show you the spider.  This was the first draft and isn’t something that I’m happy with. Still, I learned a lot from it. I haven’t colored it or anything. I simply scanned it in, so excuse the simplicity.

A picture of the spider lady from my story

Spider Lady

I did not intend for her to turn into an older spider lady, but it just kind of happened.   I will attempt to make the next version a little more like the Evil Stepmother from Disney’s Cinderella. She will have a heart shaped head and face with the larger eyes at the top and the three smaller eyes in the middle.  We’ll see how it works out.

Evil Stepmom from Disney's Cinderella

Evil Stepmom from Disney’s Cinderella

Keep your fingers crossed.

Tell Me What You Think

