Quirks

So we all have our own little quirks. Some of us can’t stand to hear words mispronounced, some of us have to make sure the pillows on the couch are arranged just right, and some of us have no quirks (which is quirky in and of itself).

Me? I have social issues. Yes, that’s right, it’s quirky!  I swear.. Anyways.

Let’s start off with the most obvious one – I have facial recognition issues. Actually, I just have memory issues. It all stems from that time I hit my head, yadda yadda yadda. Long story short, I have memory issues. There are many times that I stare at someone and my brain goes, “Hey, you know that person,” but I go, “Are you sure?” This leads to me staring at someone I’ve met before as I pass by them and then, when their back is to me, going, “Hey So-And-So! Nice to see you!” At which point they turn and look at me like I’m a freak. Well, that part might be somewhat accurate, but it’s not done on purpose.

In a similar vein, I can also forget what I’m talking about and who I’m talking to mid conversation. That’s right. I will suddenly hold my hand up and say, “Wait, who are you? What are we talking about?” Awkward pause as my brain tries to figure it out and the other person weighs whether I’m crazy or just rude. “Oh yeah, I remember now. Continue.” This has led to a lot of people just not wanting to talk to me and, let’s be honest, that’s fine with me.

Another social “quirk” I have is not really caring to take the time or expend the energy to piddle-paddle around other people’s emotions. I know, I know. Many people say I’m callous or uncaring. The fact of the matter is that I just don’t get it. If you want something, ask for it. Say so. Don’t allude to it in a vague sense and then say I’m rude for not giving you what you wanted or “asked” for. You didn’t ask, you made passive comments. Don’t do that. ASK!

I also don’t like to put up with the some people’s attitudes that they should be treated differently for whatever reason. We all have things to deal with. Anxiety, Depression, physical pain, stressful situations. I could go on and on. We all have these things. They are not an excuse to demand that other people ask, “How high?” when someone says, “JUMP!” So stop. Seriously, just stop.

I am nice. I swear. I go out of my way to help people and I try to be polite. There are times people mistake this for weakness, flirting, or (for some strange reason) they think I’m mocking them. I’m not. I’m trying to be nice. As a result of this, people can start to get pretty shitty. They can take for granted the things I’m doing and then get upset when I stop doing them. Let’s face it. If any of us are going out of our way to do nice things on a regular basis and someone starts to take it for granted, we’re gonna stop doing those things. I will also start to be curt with people that I was formerly nice to if I find out they are: talking about me behind my back, continually being rude to my face, or ignoring me. I tried to be polite, you were rude, no more need to try and be polite.

Last, but not least, my voice. I tend to have a softer voice. People can have a hard time hearing me. Don’t make fun of it. Don’t ignore me because you’re tired of asking, “What?” I will speak up. My volume and vulgarity will increase 10 fold in a matter of milliseconds. Just don’t do it.

 

Okay, I think I’m done complaining for one morning. I hope you all are having a great first day to your weekend. (See, I can be nice.) I think I need to get all of this printed on a t-shirt as a disclaimer for interacting with me. Meh, that wouldn’t be nearly as fun.

One thought on “Quirks

Tell Me What You Think

